2011 Miles Franklin Award Shortlist

| No TrackBacks
The shortlist of novels in the running for the 2011 Miles Franklin Award has been released:

The list is:

When Colts Ran by Roger McDonald
That Deadman Dance by Kim Scott
Bereft by Chris Womersley

A total of three novels in a shortlist that normally contains 5 or 6.  I'm not sure what to make of this number, nor what to make of the fact that all the authors are male, again. I can't see that anyone is going to be happy with this announcement, aside from the authors and their publishers of course.

Is this indicative of a down-turn in quality of Australian novels?  Or something else entirely? There were nine novels on the original longlist.  Even that seemed a little "short" for a "long" list.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://www.middlemiss.org/cgi-bin/movabletype/mt-tb.cgi/965

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on April 20, 2011 3:33 PM.

Reprint: Real-Life Rufus Dawes was the previous entry in this blog.

Australian Literary Monuments #28 - John Shaw Neilson is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en