2011 Man Booker International Prize Finalists

| No TrackBacks
Every two years the Man Booker International Prize is awarded to a writer to acknowledge their career in fiction.  It is presented "to a living author who has published fiction either originally in English or whose work is generally available in translation in the English language." 

In 2005 the award was presented to Ismail Kadare of Albania, in 2007 it went to Chinua Achebe of Nigeria, and in 2009 to Alice Munro of Canada.

The finalists for the 2011 prize have been announced as follows:

Wang Anyi (China)
Juan Goytisolo (Spain)
James Kelman (UK)
John le Carré (UK)
Amin Maalouf (Lebanon/France)
David Malouf (Australia)
Dacia Maraini (Italy)
Rohinton Mistry (India/Canada)
Philip Pullman (UK)
Marilynne Robinson (USA)
Philip Roth (USA)
Su Tong (China)
Anne Tyler (USA)

Since the announcement of this list John le CarrĂ© has requested that he be withdrawn from consideration for the prize. 

The winner will be named at the Sydney Writers' Festival on May 18th.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://www.middlemiss.org/cgi-bin/movabletype/mt-tb.cgi/936

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on April 5, 2011 8:50 AM.

Australian Bookcovers #251 - The Remake by Clive James was the previous entry in this blog.

Reprint: Letter to the Editor: Homage to Brennan is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en