2010 CAL Scribe Fiction Prize

Back in August I posted about a new Fiction Prize for unpublished manuscripts for Australian writers over 35.  This prize is sponsored by Scribe Publications and the CAL Cultural Fund and carries a monetary reward of $12,000 along with a publishing contract with Scribe.

The longlist of authors has now been announced as follows:

George Dunford
Angus Gaunt
Leah Kaminsky
Jonathan Marshall
Maris Morton
Meg Mundell
Andrew Nette
Jane Sullivan
Niki Tulk
Jen Webb

"The entries submitted by these ten writers will now be judged by Dr Kerryn Goldsworthy, writer and editor; Mark Rubbo, Managing Director of Readings; and Aviva Tuffield, Fiction Acquisitions Editor at Scribe."

The shortlisted will be announced in early February and the winner on 18th February at the Wheeler Centre for Books, writing and ideas in Melbourne.

Note: a couple of names you might recognise there: Jane Sullivan is a journalist for "The Age" and George Dunford, who blogs as Hackpacker and who interviewed me for "The Big Issue" back in August.


Thanks for the mention, Perry. It's quite an honour to be longlisted for a prize that is nicknamed The Wrinkly.

If this is "the Wrinkly", does that make the Vogel "the Nappy"?

The Whippersnapper?

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on December 16, 2009 9:36 AM.

Reprint: "Moustique" at the Opera House was the previous entry in this blog.

Events at the Wheeler Centre is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en