2009 NSW Premier's Literary Awards Winners

| 1 Comment

The winners of the 2009 NSW Premier's Literary Awards were announced in Sydney last night.

The winners were:

The Christina Stead Prize for Fiction
Joan London - The Good Parents

The Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-fiction
Chloe Hooper - The Tall Man: Death and Life on Palm Island

The Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry
LK Holt - Man Wolf Man

The Ethel Turner Prize for Young People's Literature
Michelle Cooper - A Brief History of Montmaray

The Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children's Literature
Urusla Dubosarsky & Tohby Riddle (Illustrator) - The Word Spy

The Community Relations Commission Award
Eric Richards - Destination Australia: Migration to Australia Since 1901

The Gleebooks Prize
David Love - Unfinished Business: Paul Keating's Interrupted Revolution J

The UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing
Nam Le - The Boat

The Play Award
Daniel Keene - "The Serpent's Teeth"

The Script Writing Award
Louis Nowra and Rachel Perkins and Beck Cole - "First Australians"

NSW Premier's Translation Prize and PEN Medallion
David Colmer

The full shortlists for each award are available here.

In addition, The Boat by Nam Le was named Book of the Year, and the People's Choice Award for Fiction went to A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz.

1 Comment

This is a great outcome! Especially for the Fiction and Non-Fiction prizes. Thoroughly deserved.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on May 19, 2009 10:22 AM.

Australian Bookcovers #161 - Holden's Performance by Murray Bail was the previous entry in this blog.

National Library of Australia Newspaper Digitisation is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en