2009 NSW Premier's Literary Awards Shortlists

The shortlists for the 2009 NSW Premier's Literary Awards have been released. The winners will be announced by the NSW Premier on Tuesday 18 May.

The Christina Stead Prize for Fiction
Helen Garner - The Spare Room
Kate Grenville - The Lieutenant
Julia Leigh - Disquiet
Joan London - The Good Parents
Steve Toltz - A Fraction of the Whole
Tim Winton - Breath

The Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-fiction
James Boyce - Van Diemen's Land
Robert Gray - The Land I Came Through Last
Chloe Hooper - The Tall Man: Death and Life on Palm Island
Dmetri Kakmi - Mother Land
Jacqueline Kent - An Exacting Heart: The Story of Hephzibah Menuhin
Christina Thompson - Come on Shore and We Will Kill and Eat You All

The Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry
Michael Brennan - Unanimous Night
David Brooks - The Balcony
Sarah Holland-Batt - Aria
LK Holt - Man Wolf Man
Kerry Leves - A Shrine to Lata Mangeshkar
Alan Wearne - The Australian Popular Songbook

The Ethel Turner Prize for Young People's Literature
Dianne Bates - Crossing the Line
Michelle Cooper - A Brief History of Montmaray
D.M Cornish - Monster Blood Tattoo Book Two: Lamplighter
Alison Goodman - The Two Pearls of Wisdom
Nette Hilton - Sprite Downberry
Joanne Horrniman - My Candlelight Novel

The Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children's Literature
Urusla Dubosarsky & Tohby Riddle (Illustrator) - The Word Spy
Bob Graham - How to Heal a Broken Wing
Sonya Hartnett and Ann James (Illustrator) - Sadie and Ratz
Glenda Millard and Stephen Michael King (Illustrator) - Perry Angel's Suitcase
Tohby Riddle - Nobody Owns the Moon
Shaun Tan - Tales from Outer Suburbia

The Community Relations Commission Award
Anna Haebich - Spinning the Dream: assimilation in Australia 1950 - 1970
Philip Jones and Anna Kenny - Australia's Muslim Cameleers: Pioneers of the Inland 1860-1930s
Jacqueline Kent - An Exacting Heart: the Story of Hephzibah Menuhin
Michelle Offen - East West 101: Chapter 5 - Haunted by the Past
Malcolm Prentis - The Scots in Australia
Eric Richards - Destination Australia: Migration to Australia Since 1901

The Gleebooks Prize
James Boyce - Van Diemen's Land
Tim Flannery - Quarterly Essay 31: Now or Never, a Sustainable Future for Australia? Gideon Haigh - The Racket: How Abortion became Legal in Australia
Chloe Hooper - The Tall Man: Death and Life on Palm Island
David Love - Unfinished Business: Paul Keating's Interrupted Revolution Jonathan Richards - The Secret War: a true history of Queensland's Native Police

The UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing
The winner of the UTS Glenda Adams Award is chosen from entries submitted for the Christina Stead Prize. There is no shortlist for this award.

The Play Award
Andrew Bovell - "When the Rain Stops Falling"
Brendan Cowell - "Ruben Guthrie"
Tom Holloway - "Don't Say the Words"
Daniel Keene - "The Serpent's Teeth"
Damien Millar - "The Modern International Dead"
Tom Wright - "The Women of Troy"

The Script Writing Award
David Caesar - "Prime Mover"
Greg Haddrick, Felicity Packard & Peter Gawler -"Underbelly: Series 1"
Anna-Maria Monticelli - "Disgrace"
Sean Nash - "All Saints Episode 447: Not What You'd Expect"
Louis Nowra and Rachel Perkins and Beck Cole - "First Australians"

NSW Premier's Translation Prize and PEN Medallion
Harry Aveling
David Colmer
Alison Entrekin
Simon Patton
Kevin Windle

In addition to the above categories, the judges will pick a Book of the Year, which is basically the best of the categories winners. There is also a People's Choice award. This is open to the public to vote on their choice of Best Fiction from the titles submitted for the Christina Stead Prize. Voting is only open to NSW residents, and will end on May 11.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on March 25, 2009 3:17 PM.

David Malouf Profile was the previous entry in this blog.

Malla Nunn Interview is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en