2006 "The Australian"/Vogel Literary Award

Details of the nominees for this year's "The Australian"/Vogel Literary Award have been announced.

One of the judges, John Dale, comments that he and his fellow judges (Murray Waldren and Marele Day) "were unanimous in agreeing that the level of accomplishment and confidence in the 2006 entries was higher than in any year during which we have been associated with the award." Given that the award has been won in the past by such Australian literary stalwarts as Kate Grenville and Tim Winton, this is saying something.

The shortlisted authors are:

Jeremy Aitken for The Bike
Belinda Castles for The River Baptists
Jarad Henry for Spider Web
Matthew Schreuder for Muscle
Anna Westbrook for Hey Sugar

You can find details of the award, along with a list of past winners at my Australian/Vogel Award website. Must get to fixing this sometime soon.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on September 19, 2006 11:57 AM.

Australian Bookcovers #30 - Lucinda Brayford by Martin Boyd was the previous entry in this blog.

2005 Colin Roderick Award is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en