2005 Colin Roderick Award

The Foundation for Australian Literary Studies has announced the 2005 winner of the Colin Roderick Award.

The winner was The Broken Shore by Peter Temple.

Temple's novel was chosen from a shortlist which also included:

Not Wrong - Just Different, Katharine Brisbane (Currency press)
The Weather Makers, Tim Flannery (Text Publishing)
The Secret River, Kate Grenville (Text Publishing)
The Marsh Birds, Eva Sallis (Allen & Unwin)
1932, Gerald Stone (Pan Macmillan Australia)
Affection, Ian Townsend (HarperCollins Publishers Australia)
Dirt Cheap, Elizabeth Wynhausen (Pan Macmillan Australia)

The award of $10,000 and the H.T Priestly Medal will be presented In Townsville on October 17th this year.

My thanks to Josie Macgregor for bringing this award to my attention. As she puts it: "The Colin Roderick Award is always interesting because it takes a look at ALL Australian books -- fiction, non-fiction, short stories, poetry -- and chooses the best from the previous year, so it's unique and has a slightly different perspective."

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on September 20, 2006 9:24 AM.

2006 "The Australian"/Vogel Literary Award was the previous entry in this blog.

On Other Blogs #2 is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en