2012 Melbourne Prize for Literature

| No TrackBacks

The finalists for the 2012 Melbourne Prize for Literature were recently released. "The Melbourne Prize for Literature 2012 is part of the annual Melbourne Prize cycle and is run by the Melbourne Prize Trust." The Prize is awarded each year and cycles through the fields of Urban Sculpture, Literature and Music.

The finalists are:

Melbourne Prize for Literature 2012

Alison Lester
Robert Manne
Alex Miller
Joanna Murray-Smith
Peter Temple

Best Writing Award 2012

Tony Birch, Blood
Anna Goldsworthy, Piano Lessons
Sonya Hartnett, The Children of the King
Paul Kelly, How to make gravy
Wayne Macauley, The Cook
David McCooey, Outside
Favel Parrett, Past the Shallows
Craig Sherborne, The Amateur Science of Love
Carrie Tiffany, Mateship with Birds
Ouyang Yu, The English Class

The Melbourne Prize is awarded to a Victorian writer for lifetime achievement (previous winners have been Helen Garner (2006) and Gerald Murnane (2009))  The Best Writing Prize is for a single work.

The winners will be announced in Melbourne on November 19.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://www.middlemiss.org/cgi-bin/movabletype/mt-tb.cgi/2006

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on September 10, 2012 3:33 PM.

Combined Reviews: Mateship with Birds by Carrie Tiffany was the previous entry in this blog.

Australian Bookcovers #321 - Careless by Deborah Robertson is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en