2012 Ditmar Award Shortlists

| No TrackBacks
The nominees for the 2012 Ditmar Awards have been released.  These awards are presented for science fiction and fantasy works published by Australians.

Best Novel
The Shattered City (Creature Court 2), Tansy Rayner Roberts (HarperCollins)
Burn Bright, Marianne de Pierres (Random House Australia)
Mistification, Kaaron Warren (Angry Robot Books)
The Courier's New Bicycle, Kim Westwood (HarperCollins)
Debris (The Veiled Worlds 1), Jo Anderton (Angry Robot Books)

Best Novella or Novelette

"The Sleeping and the Dead", Cat Sparks, in Ishtar (Gilgamesh Press)
"Above", Stephanie Campisi, in Above/Below (Twelfth Planet Press)
"The Past is a Bridge Best Left Burnt", Paul Haines, in The Last Days of Kali Yuga (Brimstone Press)
"And the Dead Shall Outnumber the Living", Deborah Biancotti, in Ishtar (Gilgamesh Press)
"Julia Agrippina's Secret Family Bestiary", Tansy Rayner Roberts, in Love and Romanpunk (Twelfth Planet Press)
"Below", Ben Peek, in Above/Below (Twelfth Planet Press)

Best Short Story
"Breaking the Ice", Thoraiya Dyer, in Cosmos 37
"Alchemy", Lucy Sussex, in Thief of Lives (Twelfth Planet Press)
"The Last Gig of Jimmy Rucker", Martin Livings and Talie Helene, in More Scary Kisses (Ticonderoga Publications)
"All You Can Do Is Breathe", Kaaron Warren, in Blood and Other Cravings (Tor)
"Bad Power", Deborah Biancotti, in Bad Power (Twelfth Planet Press)
"The Patrician", Tansy Rayner Roberts, in Love and Romanpunk (Twelfth Planet Press)

Best Collected Work
The Last Days of Kali Yuga by Paul Haines, edited by Angela Challis (Brimstone Press)
Nightsiders by Sue Isle, edited by Alisa Krasnostein (Twelfth Planet Press)
Bad Power by Deborah Biancotti, edited by Alisa Krasnostein (Twelfth Planet Press)
Love and Romanpunk by Tansy Rayner Roberts, edited by Alisa Krasnostein (Twelfth Planet Press)
Ishtar, edited by Amanda Pillar and K. V. Taylor (Gilgamesh Press)

Best Artwork
"Finishing School", Kathleen Jennings, in Steampunk!: An Anthology of Fantastically Rich and Strange Stories (Candlewick Press)
Cover art, Kathleen Jennings, for The Freedom Maze (Small Beer Press)

Best Fan Writer
Tansy Rayner Roberts, for body of work including reviews in Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus! and Not If You Were The Last Short Story On Earth
Alexandra Pierce, for body of work including reviews in Australian Speculative Fiction in Focus!, Not If You Were The Last Short Story On Earth, and Randomly Yours, Alex
Robin Pen, for "The Ballad of the Unrequited Ditmar"
Sean Wright, for body of work including "Authors and Social Media" series in Adventures of a Bookonaut
Bruce Gillespie, for body of work including "The Golden Age of Fanzines is Now", and SF Commentary 81 & 82

Best Fan Artist
Rebecca Ing, for work in Scape
Lisa Rye, for "Steampunk Portal" series
Dick Jenssen, for body of work including work in IRS, Steam Engine Time, SF Commentary and Scratchpad
Kathleen Jennings, for work in Errantry (tanaudel.wordpress.com) including "The Dalek Game"
Rhianna Williams, for work in Nullas Anxietas Convention Programme Book

Best Fan Publication in Any Medium
SF Commentary, edited by Bruce Gillespie
The Writer and the Critic, Kirstyn McDermott and Ian Mond
The Coode Street Podcast, Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe
Galactic Chat, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts and Sean Wright
Galactic Suburbia, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Alex Pierce

Best New Talent
Steve Cameron
Alan Baxter
Joanne Anderton

William Atheling Jr Award for Criticism or Review
Liz Grzyb and Talie Helene, for "2010: The Year in Review", in The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Horror 2010 (Ticonderoga Publications)
Damien Broderick and Van Ikin, for editing Warriors of the Tao: The Best of Science Fiction: A Review of Speculative Literature (Borgo Press)
David McDonald, Tansy Rayner Roberts and Tehani Wessely for "Reviewing New Who" series, in A Conversational Life
Alexandra Pierce and Tehani Wessely, for reviews of Vorkosigan Saga, in Randomly Yours, Alex
Russell Blackford, for "Currently reading: Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke", in Metamagician and the Hellfire Club

The awards will be announced at Continuum 8, the 51st Australian National Science Fiction Convention to be held in Melbourne over the weekend of June 8-11 2012.

No TrackBacks

TrackBack URL: http://www.middlemiss.org/cgi-bin/movabletype/mt-tb.cgi/1723

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on May 16, 2012 9:29 PM.

Australian Bookcovers #306 - The Unicorn and Other Tales by Dal Stivens was the previous entry in this blog.

Anna Funder Interview is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en