2010 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards Shortlists

The shortlisted works for the 2010 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards have been released.

The shortlists are:

The Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction

Parrot and Olivier in America, Peter Carey, Penguin Group Australia
The Bath Fugues, Brian Castro, Giramondo Publishing
Summertime, J.M. Coetzee, Random House Australia
Jasper Jones, Craig Silvey, Allen & Unwin
Truth, Peter Temple, Text Publishing

The Nettie Palmer Prize for Non-fiction

Popeye Never Told You: Childhood Memories of the War, Rodney Hall, Murdoch Books
A Swindler's Progress: Nobles and Convicts in the Age of Liberty, Kirsten McKenzie, UNSW Press
Captain Cook Was Here, Maria Nugent, Cambridge University Press
Otherland: A Journey With My Daughter, Maria Tumarkin, Random House Australia
Reading by Moonlight: How Books Saved a Life, Brenda Walker, Penguin Group Australia

The Young Adult Fiction Prize

Raw Blue, Kirsty Eagar, Penguin Group Australia
Swerve, Phillip Gwynne, Penguin Group Australia
Beatle Meets Destiny, Gabrielle Williams, Penguin Group Australia

The CJ Dennis Prize for Poetry

Beneath Our Armour, Peter Bakowski, Hunter Publishers
Possession, Anna Kerdijk Nicholson, Five Islands Press
The Adoption Order, Ian McBryde, Five Islands Press

The Louis Esson Prize for Drama

Moth, Declan Greene, Arena Theatre Company and Malthouse Theatre
And No More Shall We Part, Tom Holloway, A Bit Of Argy Bargy
Furious Mattress, Melissa Reeves, Malthouse Theatre

The Alfred Deakin Prize for an Essay Advancing Public Debate

Patriot Acts, Waleed Aly, The Monthly
Stupid Money, Gideon Haigh, Griffith Review
Seeing Truganini, David Hansen, Australian Book Review

The Prize for an Unpublished Manuscript by an Emerging Victorian Writer

Winsome of Rangoon, Michelle Aung Thin
House of Sticks, Peggy Frew
Cambodia Darkness and Light, Andrew Nette

The John Curtin Prize for Journalism

Shutting Down Sharleen, Eurydice Aroney and Tom Morton, Hindsight, ABC Radio National
Who Killed Mr Ward?, Janine Cohen and Liz Jackson, Four Corners, ABC Television
Stop at Nothing: The Life and Adventures of Malcolm Turnbull, Annabel Crabb, Quarterly Essay

The Prize for First Book of History

From Superwoman to Domestic Goddesses: the Rise and Fall of Feminism, Natasha Campo, Peter Lang International Academic Publishers
Becoming African Americans: Black Public Life in Harlem, 1919-1939, Clare Corbould, Harvard University Press
Rethinking Antisemitism in Nineteenth-Century France, Julie Kalman, Cambridge University Press

The Prize for Indigenous Writing
Legacy, Larissa Behrendt, University of Queensland Press
Ten Hail Marys, Kate Howarth, University of Queensland Press
Hey Mum, What's a Half-Caste?, Lorraine McGee-Sippel, Magabala Books

 The winners will be announced at a dinner to be held on September 28th.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on September 17, 2010 10:59 AM.

Reprint: Australian Authors: Norman Lindsay by Aidan de Brune was the previous entry in this blog.

Poem: The House in Which the Poet was Born by Anonymous is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en