2010 Commonwealth Writers' Prize Regional Winners

The regional winners of the 2010 Commonwealth Writers' Prize have been announced.  Australia is part of the South East Asia and Pacific Region and dominated the shortlists in both Best Book and Best First Book categories.

The winners in the South East Asia and Pacific Region were:

Best Book

The Adventures of Vela by Albert Vendt (Samoa)

Best First Book

Siddon Rock by Glenda Guest (Australia)

That's probably the first win by a writer from Samoa in any category, and given the winner was up against Carey and Coetzee, amongst others, it must have a fair bit going for it.

The overall winners in each category, that is the best from all regions, will be announced in Delhi on April 12.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on March 19, 2010 3:02 PM.

Reprint: Lawson and Music by Keith Kennedy was the previous entry in this blog.

Poem: Stanzas by Eta is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en