2010 Barbara Jefferis Award

I not only missed the announcement of the shortlisted works for the 2010 Barbara Jefferis Award, but now find the winner has been announced as well.  You might recall that this award is s presented to "the best novel written by an Australian author that depicts women and girls in a positive way or otherwise empowers the status of women and girls in society". Previous winners have been Feather Man by Rhyll McMaster in 2008, and The Spare Room by Helen Garner in 2009.

The shortlisted works for 2010 were:

Steven Carroll, The Lost Life (HarperCollins)
Enza Gandolfo, Swimming (Vanark Press)
Cate Kennedy, The World Beneath (Scribe)
Kristina Olsson, The China Garden (UQP)
Susan Varga, Headlong (UWA Publishing)

with the following two works being highly commended:

Judith Lanigan, A True History of the Hula Hoop (Picador)
Lili Wilkinson, Pink (Allen & Unwin)

And the winner was:

Kristina Olsson, The China Garden (UQP) 

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on March 17, 2010 11:40 AM.

Peter Goldsworthy Interview was the previous entry in this blog.

2010 Miles Franklin Award Longlist is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en