2009 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards Winners

The winner of the 2009 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards were announced last night.

The winners are:

Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction

The Slap - Christos Tsiolkas (Allen & Unwin)

Nettie Palmer Prize for Non-Fiction

The Tall Man: Death and Life on Palm Island - Chloe Hooper (Hamish Hamilton)

C.J. Dennis Prize for Poetry

The Golden Bird - Robert Adamson (Black Inc)

Louis Esson Prize for Drama

Goodbye Vaudeville Charlie Mudd - Lally Katz (Malthouse Theatre)

The Prize for Young Adult Fiction

Something in the World Called Love - Sue Saliba (Penguin)

The Alfred Deakin Prize for an Essay Advancing Public Debate

Death in the Mountains - Lisa Clifford (Macmillan) 

The John Curtin Prize for Journalism

The Penalty is Death: Inside Bali's Kerobokan Prison - Luke Davies (The Monthly)

The Prize for Best Music Theatre Script

Shane Warne The Musical - Eddie Perfect (Token Events) 

The Prize for Science Writing

The Rise of Animals: Evolution and Diversification of the Kingdom Animalia - Patricia Vickers-Rich (JHU Press)

The Prize for an Unpublished Manuscript by an Emerging Victorian Writer

Sufficient Grace - Amy Espeseth

You can read the full list of the shortlisted works here.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on September 2, 2009 9:17 AM.

Reprint: The Poet Gordon and Marcus Clarke was the previous entry in this blog.

Melbourne Writers Festival Reports #4 is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en