2009 Indie Award

| 1 Comment

The Independent Bookshops in Australia make the Indie Awards each year.  As the website says:

Now in its second year, The Indie Book Award is all about Australian independent booksellers showing the strength of their support for Australian authors and celebrating the very best of Australian writing.

Panels of expert judges (all avid readers and indie booksellers) choose winners in the four categories. These four category winners form the shortlist and independent booksellers from across the country then vote to select the best of the best - the top-polling book will be announced as The Indie Book of the Year for 2009. The author of the winning book will receive prize money of $15,000.

The four category winners have now been anounced as follows:

Fiction - Jasper Jones, by Craig Silvey
Debut Fiction - The Virtuoso by Sonia Orchard
Non-Fiction - The Tall Man by Chloe Hooper
Children's Book - Pearl Verses the World by Sally Murphy, illustrated by Heather Potter

The Indie Book of the Year winner will be announced on Monday, September 28

1 Comment

I'm not at all surprised about the Orchard win.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on August 18, 2009 2:01 PM.

Australian Bookcovers #173 - Heatwave in Berlin by Dymphna Cusack was the previous entry in this blog.

Reprint: Book Censorship: Minister Rejects Requests is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en