2007 Man Booker International Prize

The Man Booker International Prize judging panel overnight released its list of authors under consideration for the 2007 prize. The 15 authors on the list are:
Chinua Achebe
Margaret Atwood
John Banville
Peter Carey
Don DeLillo
Carlos Fuentes
Doris Lessing
Ian McEwan
Harry Mulisch
Alice Munro
Michael Ondaatje
Amos Oz
Philip Roth
Salman Rushdie
Michel Tournier

As Chris Boyd points out there isn't much cross-over with the 2005 list, which probably indicates different preferences from the judging panel more than anything else. This prize awards a body of work by an author, rather than a specific book, it is awarded every 2 years and is open to all authors worldwide. While there doesn't seem to be any specific date mentioend for the announcement of the prize winner, we can expect to hear the news in June if the 2005 prize is anything to go on.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on April 13, 2007 3:25 PM.

Clive James - Cultural Critic was the previous entry in this blog.

Poem: Americant by Dido (Edward Dyson) is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en