2006 NSW Premier's Literary Shortlists

The shortlists for the 2006 NSW Premier's Literary awards have been announced.

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction
March, Geraldine Brooks
Slow Man, J.M. Coetzee
The Secret River, Kate Grenville
The Marsh Birds, Eva Sallis
Dead Europe, Christos Tsiolkas
The Wing of Night, Brenda Walker

Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction
Dora B: A Memoir of My Mother, Josiane Behmoiras
Making 'Black Harvest': Warfare, Film-making and Living Dangerously in the Highlands of Papua New Guinea, Bob Connolly
The Weather Makers: The History and Future Impact of Climate Change, Tim Flannery
Hanoi, Adieu: A Bittersweet Memoir of French Indochina, Mandaley Perkins
East of Time, Jacob G. Rosenberg
Dirt Cheap: Life at the Wrong End of the Job Market, Elisabeth Wynhausen

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry
Avenues & Runways, Aidan Coleman
The Kindly Ones, Susan Hampton
Broken/Open, Jill Jones
Suburban Anatomy, Penelope Layland
Blister Pack, David McCooey
Latecomers, Jaya Savige

NSW Prize for Literary Scolarship
Postcolonial Conrad: Paradoxes of Empire, Terry Collits
Dickens and Empire: Discourses of Class, Race and Colonialism in the Works of Charles Dickens, Grace Moore

Ethel Turner Prize for Young People's Literature
The Glory Garage, Taghred Chandab & Nadia Jama
No Worries, Bill Condon
Theodora's Gift, Ursula Duborarsky
Magic or Madness, Justine Larbalestier
Lost Property, James Moloney
Hope Bay, Nicole Plüss

Patricia Wrightson Prize
The Secret World of Wombats, Jackie French
The Mostly True Story of Matthew and Trim, Cassandra Golds & Stephen Axelsen
Journey to Eureka, Kerry Greenwood
Naked Bunyip Dancing, Steven Herrick
How Hedley Hopkins Did a Dare, Paul Jennings
In the Monkey Forest, Kierin Meehan

Community Realtions Commission Award
The Secret River, Kate Grenville
The Butcher's Wife, Noëlle Janaczewska
Behind the Moon, Hsu-Ming Teo

Gleebooks Prize
The Third Try: Can the UN Work?, Alison Broinowski & James Wilkinson
Conquest: A New History of the Modern World, David Day
The Weather Makers: The History and Future Impact of Climate Change, Tim Flannery
Beyond Right and Left: New Politics and the Culture Wars, David McKnight
Thunder From the Silent Zone: Re-thinking China, Paul Monk
Ending the Affair: The Decline of Television Current Affairs in Australia, Graeme Turner

UTS Award for New Writing
There is no shortlist for this award - the winner will be announced on 23rd May.

Play Award
Unspoken, Rebecca Clarke
Smashed, Lally Katz
Strangers in Between, Thomas Murphy
Stalking Matilda, Tee O'Neill
Non Parlo de Salo, Christos Tsiolkas & Spiro Economopoulos

Script Writing Award
Ten Canoes, Rolf de Heer
Girl in a Mirror, Kathy Drayton
Call Me 'Mum', Kathleen Mary Fallon
Revealing Gallipoli, Wain Fimeri
We Can Be Heroes, Chris Lilley
Love My Way, ep.20, 'Which Way Home', Tony McNamara

The winners will be announced at the Sydney Writers' Festival on May 23rd at the Art Gallery of NSW.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on April 18, 2006 9:38 AM.

Australian Books to Film #2 - On the Beach was the previous entry in this blog.

2006 Ditmar Award Winners is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en