2005 Nita B Kibble Award

The $20,000 Nita B Kibble Award is for women writers of a published book of fiction or non-fiction classifiable as "life writing". Shortlisted for this year's award were: Plenty by Gay Bilson
Joe Cinque's Consolation by Helen Garner
The Broken Book by Susan Johnson

Yesterday, Gay Bilson was announced at the winner of the award for her second book. The judges described Plenty as "part memoir, part travel book, part essay [and]
takes Australian life writing into a whole new dimension." "The Sydney Morning Herald" carries a report of the award in today's edition, as does "The Australian". In a related ceremony at the State Library of NSW, the $2500 Dobbie Award for a first published work was awarded to Paulette Gittins for The Secret World of Annette Robinson.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on May 11, 2005 10:38 AM.

Where to Now For Literary #2 was the previous entry in this blog.

Australia PEN is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en