Australia PEN

Somewhat late in the piece I've come across news that Australia PEN has announced the creation of "a new award recognising 'an achievement in promoting freedom of expression, international understanding and access to literature as expressed in the charter of International PEN.' The award is named in honour of Thomas Keneally for 'his lifetime's commitment to the values of PEN'. The inaugural recipient of the prize is Joesoef Isak, the Indonesian publisher and translator who was imprisoned for ten years for publishing such works as the novels of Pramoedya Ananta Toer."

You can read the full press release relating to the announcement of this award on the Australia PEN website.

[Thanks to the April/May newsletter of Austlit for the details of this award. The quote at the top is from that newsletter.]

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on May 11, 2005 11:21 AM.

2005 Nita B Kibble Award was the previous entry in this blog.

The Great Inland Sea by David Francis is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en