2010 NSW Premier's Literary Award Winners

The winners of the 2010 NSW Premier's Literary Awards have been announced.

The winners were:

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction
J.M. Coetzee, Summertime Random House Australia (Knopf)

Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction
Paul McGeough, Kill Khalid: Mossad's Failed Hit ... And the Rise of Hamas Allen & Unwin

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry
Jordie Albiston, the sonnet according to 'm' John Leonard Press

Ethel Turner Prize for Young People's Literature
Pamela Rushby, When the Hipchicks Went to War Hachette Australia

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children's Literature
Allan Baillie, Krakatoa Lighthouse Penguin Group (Australia)

Community Relations Commission Award
Abbas El-Zein, Leave to Remain: A Memoir University of Queensland Press

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing for Fiction
Andrew Croome, Document Z Allen & Unwin

Script Writing Award
Jane Campion, Bright Star Jan Chapman Films
Aviva Ziegler & Veronica Fury, Fairweather Man Fury Productions

Play Award
This category did not have a shortlist. This year a grant of $30,000 will be made
available to support professional development opportunities for new playwrights in New
South Wales in 2011.

NSW Premier's Prize for Literary Scholarship
Philip Mead, Networked Language: Culture and History in Australian Poetry Australian Scholarly Publishing

The People's Choice Award 
Cate Kennedy, The World Beneath Scribe Publications

Book of the Year 
Paul McGeough, Kill Khalid: Mossad's Failed Hit ... And the Rise of Hamas Allen & Unwin

Special Award 
The Macquarie PEN Anthology of Australian Literature 

You can read the full shortlists here.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on May 18, 2010 1:36 PM.

Australian Bookcovers #210 - A Book for Kids by C. J. Dennis was the previous entry in this blog.

Reprint: Letter to the Editor: Poetry in Australia by Mary Gilmore is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en