2009 Australian/Vogel Award

The winners of the 2009 Australian/Vogel Literary Award have been announced.

The joint winners are:

Utopian Man, by Lisa Lang


Night Street, by Kristel Thornell

This award is for an unpublished manuscript by an Australian writer under the age of 35. It carries prize-money of $A20,000 (which will be shared this year) and guarantees publication by Allen & Unwin within the next 12 months. Previous winners of the award have included: Tim Winton, Brian Castro, Kate Grenville, Mandy Sayer and Andrew McGahan.  I've read a number of the winners and can safely say they were all worth reading.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on September 18, 2009 11:53 AM.

Reprint: A Fair Pioneer: Jennings Carmichael by Henry Tate was the previous entry in this blog.

2009 Prime Minister's Literary Awards Shortlists is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en