2008 Australian Literary Society Gold Medal

The Australian Literature Society Gold Medal for 2008 has been awarded to The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas.

The society's website has a detailed judges' report on the novel.

The shortlisted works were:

Divine Comedy: Journeys through a regional geography.   John Kinsella (UQP)
Her Father's Daughter.  John Clanchy  (UQP)
House of Exile: The Life and Times of Heinrich Mann and Nelly Kroeger-Mann. Evelyn Juers (Giramondo)
Telling a Hawk from a Handsaw.  Chris Wallace-Crabbe (Carcenet Press)
The Slap.  Christos Tsiolkas  (Allen & Unwin)
The Spare Room.  Helen Garner (Text)


About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on July 13, 2009 1:54 PM.

Frank Burkett Interview was the previous entry in this blog.

Australian Bookcovers #168 - Double-Wolf by Brian Castro is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en