2009 Commonwealth Writers' Prize Winners Announced

Christos Tsiolkas has been announced as the winner of the 2009 Commonwealth Writers' Best Book Prize for The Slap.  Mohammed Hanif was awared the Best First Book Prize for his novel A Case of Exploding Mangoes.  This year's prize-giving ceremony was held at the Auckland Writers and Readers Festival in New Zealand on Saturday May 16th.

The overall winners of the main prizes - Best Book and Best First Book - are chosen from the winners of these categories from each of the commonwealth regions.  You can see the full list of shortlisted titles in each region here.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on May 18, 2009 8:59 AM.

Poem: Brunton Stevens by George Essex Evans was the previous entry in this blog.

2009 Sydney Morning Herald Best Young Australian Novelists is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en