2009 Barbara Jefferis Award

The weblog of "Australian Literary Review", "A Pair of Ragged Claws", has announced that the shortlist for the 2009 Barbara Jefferis Award has been released. This award, which was first presented in 2008 to Feather Man by Rhyll McMaster, is presented to "the best novel written by an Australian author that depicts women and girls in a positive way or otherwise empowers the status of women and girls in society".

The shortlisted works are:
People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks(HarperCollins)
The Spare Room by Helen Garner (Text)
The Lifeboat by Zacharey Jane (University of Queensland Press)
Addition by Toni Jordan (Text)
The Good Parents by Joan London (Random House)
The Last Sky by Alice Nelson (Fremantle Press)

The winner will be announced on Friday March 27.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on March 10, 2009 9:30 AM.

Australian Bookcovers #152 - One of the Wattle Birds by Jessica Anderson was the previous entry in this blog.

2008 Australian Fiction Award Winners (Update) is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en