2008 ACT Book of the Year Award Winner

I was late in posting about this award in December (after the shortlist had been released in November), and now I find myself lagging behind again as the winner was announced in December - the day after I published the shortlist as it happened: sometimes you just can't win.

The 2008 ACT Book of the Year was Walking the Camino: a modern pilgrimage to Santiago by Tony Kevin. Also announced in the press release cited above were four ACT Poetry Prizes.

Judith Wright Prize for a published collection by an Australian poet
Winner: Barry Hill (VIC) - Necessity - Poems 1996-2006 (soi3 modern poets, an imprint of papertiger media inc)
Highly Commended:
J S Harry (NSW) - Not Finding Wittgenstein (Giramondo Poets)
Meredith Wattison (NSW) - Basket of Sunlight (Puncher and Wattmann)
Petra White (VIC) - The Incoming Tide (John Leonard Press)
Elizabeth Campbell (VIC) - Letters to the Tremulous Hand (John Leonard Press)
Brendan Ryan (VIC) - A paddock in his head (Five Islands Press)

Alec Bolton Prize for an unpublished manuscript by an Australian poet
Dr David Musgrave (NSW) - "Phantom Limb"
Highly Commended:
Cate Kennedy (VIC) - "The Taste of River Water"
Jean Kent (NSW) - "Travelling with the Wrong Phrase Books"
Carolyn Leach-Paholski (VIC) - "The Sorrow Bird"
Tracy Ryan (WA) - "The Argument"

Rosemary Dobson Prize for an unpublished poem by an Australian poet
Andy Jackson (VIC) - "Secessionist"
Anna Buck (NSW) - "A Council House in Heaven"
Paul Cliff (ACT) - "Snake-Man (La Perouse)"
Chris Andrews (VIC) - "By Accident"
Jennifer Compton (VIC) - "Approaching Firenze"
John De Laine (SA) - "Field Mouse"
Joan Kerr (VIC) - "Gobray, bunhan bunahan, khen"
Dr Edward Livings (VIC) - "Tawny Frogmouth"
Nathan Shepherdson (QLD) - "unlike"

David Campbell Prize for an unpublished poem by an ACT poet
Dr Danijela Kambaskovic-Sawers - "A Migrant Writer on a Bus (Thinking of Kundera)"
Dr Elizabeth Lawson - "On the Undoing of Buttons"
Dr Paul Magee - "Like words laid down in sleep"
Lesley Lebkowicz - "The Spy, Volodya Petrov, leaves his home..."
Moya Pacey - "The Wardrobe"
Geoff Page - "Dancing in a Paper Hat"
Maggie Shapley - "Changdeokgung"

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on January 7, 2009 11:35 AM.

Tom Keneally Watch #7 was the previous entry in this blog.

Eddie Campbell Interview is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en