2008 Aurealis Awards

The winners of the 2008 Aurealis awards have been announced. These awards are presented to the best Australian sf and fantasy across a number of categories. The full shortlists for these awards were previously posted here.

The winners were:

Best Science Fiction Novel
K. A. Bedford, Time Machines Repaired While-U-Wait, Edge Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing

Best Science Fiction Short Story
Simon Brown, "The Empire", Dreaming Again, Harper/Voyager

Best Fantasy Novel
Alison Goodman, The Two Pearls of Wisdom, HarperCollins

Best Fantasy Short Story
Cat Sparks, "Sammarynda Deep", Paper Cities, Senses 5 Press

Best Horror Novel
John Harwood, The Seance, Jonathan Cape Random House Australia

Best Horror Short Story
Kirstyn McDermott, "Painlessness", Greatest Uncommon Denominator #2

Best Anthology
Jonathan Strahan (editor), The Starry Rift, Viking Children's Books

Best Collection
Sean Williams & Russell B Farr (editor), Magic Dirt: The Best of Sean Williams, Ticonderoga Publications

Best Illustated Book/Graphic Novel
Shaun Tan, Tales From Outer Suburbia, Allen & Unwin

Best Young Adult Novel
Melina Marchetta, Finnikin of the Rock, Viking Penguin

Best Young Adult Short Story
Trent Jamieson, "Cracks", Shiny #2

Best Children's Novel
Emily Rodda, The Wizard of Rondo, Omnibus Books

Best Children's Illustrated Work/Picture Book
Richard Harland & Laura Peterson (illustrator), Escape!, Under Siege, Race to the Ruins, The Heavy Crown, The Wolf Kingdom series, Omnibus Books

Peter McNamara Convenors' Award for Excellence
Jack Dann

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on January 27, 2009 11:31 AM.

Australian Bookcovers #146 - The Tivington Nott by Alex Miller was the previous entry in this blog.

2009 Michael L. Printz Award for Young Adult Literature is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en