2008 Aurealis Award Shortlists Announced

The shortlisted works for the 2008 Aurealis Awards have been announced. These are awards are presented to the best Australian science fiction, fantasy and horror works in a given year.

Best Science Fiction Novel
K A Bedford, Time Machines Repaired While-U-Wait, Edge Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing
Marianne de Pierres, Chaos Space, Book Two of the Sentients of Orion, Orbit
Simon Haynes, Hal Spacejock: No Free Lunch, Fremantle Press
Kim Westwood, The Daughters of Moab, HarperVoyager
Sean Williams, Earth Ascendant, Astropolis Book Two, Orbit

Best Science Fiction Short Story
Simon Brown, "The Empire", Dreaming Again, HarperVoyager
Nathan Burrage, "Black and Bitter, Thanks", The Workers' Paradise, Ticonderoga Publications
Trent Jamieson, "Delivery", Cosmos, #21
Margo Lanagan, "The Fifth Star in the Southern Cross", Dreaming Again, HarperVoyager
Tansy Rayner Roberts, "Fleshy", 2012, Twelfth Planet Press

Best Fantasy Novel
Alison Goodman, The Two Pearls of Wisdom, HarperCollins
Sylvia Kelso, Amberlight, Juno Books
Margo Lanagan, Tender Morsels, Allen & Unwin
Juliet Marillier, Heir to Sevenwaters, Macmillan Australia
Karen Miller, The Riven Kingdom, Godspeaker Book Two, HarperVoyager

Best Fantasy Short Story
Thoraiya Dyer, "Night Heron's Curse", Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine, #37
Karen Maric, "The Last Deflowerer", Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine, #32
Angela Slatter, "Dresses, Three", Shimmer, Vol 2 #4
Cat Sparks, "Sammarynda Deep", Paper Cities, Senses 5 Press
Kim Westwood, "Nightship", Dreaming Again, HarperVoyager

Best Horror Novel
Jack Dann, The Economy of Light, PS Publishing
Nick Gadd, Ghostlines, Scribe Publications
John Harwood, The Seance, Jonathan Cape

Best Horror Short Story
Lee Battersby, "In From the Snow", Dreaming Again, HarperVoyager
Deborah Biancotti, "Pale Dark Soldier", Midnight Echo, #1
Trent Jamieson, "Day Boy", Murky Depths, #4
Kirstyn McDermott, "Painlessness", Greatest Uncommon Denominator (GUD), #2
Ian McHugh, "Bitter Dreams", L Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Vol XXIV

Best Anthology
Bill Congreve & Michelle Marquardt (editors), The Year's Best Australian Fantasy and Science Fiction, Fourth Annual Volume, MirrorDanse Books
Jack Dann (editor), Dreaming Again, HarperVoyager
Jonathan Strahan (editor), The Starry Rift, Viking Children's Books

Best Collection
Robert Hood, Creeping in Reptile Flesh, Altair Australia Books
Sean Williams and Russell B. Farr (editor), Magic Dirt: The Best of Sean Williams, Ticonderoga Publications

Best Illustrated Book / Graphic Novel
Steve Hunt (illustrator/co-author) & David Richardson (co-author), The Cloudchasers, ABC Books
Shaun Tan, Tales from Outer Suburbia, Allen & Unwin
Colin Thompson, The Floods Family Files, Random House Australia
Julie Watts (author) & Graeme Base (illustrator), The Art of Graeme Base, Penguin/Viking

Best Young Adult Novel
Isobelle Carmody, The Stone Key, Obernewtyn Chronicles, Volume Five, Penguin/Viking
David Cornish, Lamplighter, Monster Blood Tattoo Book Two, Omnibus Books Alison Goodman, The Two Pearls of Wisdom, HarperCollins
Melina Marchetta, Finnikin of the Rock, Penguin/Viking
Sean Williams, The Changeling, The Changeling series book one, Angus & Robertson

Best Young Adult Short Story
Deborah Biancotti, "The Tailor of Time", Clockwork Phoenix, Norilana Books
Dirk Flinthart, "This Is Not My Story", Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine, #37
Trent Jamieson, "Cracks", Shiny, #2
Kevin MacLean, "Eye of the Beholder", Misspelled, DAW Books

Best Children's Novel
Simon Higgins, Moonshadow, Eye of the Beast, Random House Australia
Sophie Masson, Thomas Trew and the Island of Ghosts, Hodder Children's
Emily Rodda, The Wizard of Rondo, Omnibus Books
Carole Wilkinson, Dragon Dawn, Black Dog Books
Sean Williams, The Changeling and The Dust Devils, The Changeling series books one and two, Angus & Robertson

Best Children's Illustrated Work/Picture Book
Anna Fienberg, Barbara Fienberg & Kim Gamble, Tashi and the Phoenix, Allen & Unwin
Richard Harland & Laura Peterson (illustrator), Escape!, Under Siege, Race to the Ruins, The Heavy Crown, The Wolf Kingdom series, Omnibus Books
Ian Irvine & David Cornish (illustrator), Thorn Castle, Giant's Lair, Black Crypt, Wizardry Crag, The Sorcerer's Tower series, Omnibus Books
Sally Morgan with Ezekiel, Ambelin and Blaze Kwaymullina & Adam Hill (illustrator), Curly and the Fent, Random House Australia
Richard Tulloch & Terry Denton (illustrator), Twisted Tales, Random House Australia

Winners will be announced at the Aurealis Awards ceremony in Brisbane on Saturday the 24th January 2009.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on December 10, 2008 10:40 AM.

Australian LitBlog Snapshot #6 - SallyR was the previous entry in this blog.

Australian LitBlog Snapshot #7 - Angela Meyer is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en