2008 Man Booker Prize Winner Announced

The winner of the 2008 Man Booker prize has been announced as Aravind Adiga, for his novel The White Tiger.

The other works on the shortlist were:
The Secret Scripture by Sebastian Barry
Sea of Poppies by Amitav Ghosh
The Clothes on Their Backs by Linda Grant
The Northern Clemency by Philip Hensher
A Fraction of the Whole by Steve Toltz

Adiga is the third debut novelist to win the award after Arundhati Roy for The God of Small Things in 1997, and DBC Pierre for Vernon God Little in 2003.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on October 15, 2008 8:45 AM.

Richard Flanagan Interview was the previous entry in this blog.

Combined Reviews: Frantic by Katherine Howell is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en