2008 CBCA Book of the Year Award Winners

The winners of the Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year awards have been announced. We published the
full list of the nominated titles back in April.

The winners were:

Book of the Year: Older Readers
The Ghost's Child by Sonya Hartnett (Viking)

Honour books:
Black Water by David Metzenthen (Penguin)
Marty's Shadow by John Heffernan (Omnibus)

Book of the Year: Younger Readers
Dragon Moon by Carole Wilkinson (Black Dog Books)

Honour books:
Amelia Dee and the Peacock Lamp by Odo Hirsch (A&U)
Sixth Grade Style Queen (Not!) by Sherryl Clark, illus by Elissa Christian (Puffin)

Book of the Year: Early Childhood
Pearl Barley and Charlie Parsley by Aaron Blabey (Viking)

Honour books:
Cat by Mike Dumbleton, illus by Craig Smith (Working Title Press)
Lucy Goosey by Margaret Wild, illus by Ann James (Little Hare Books)

Picture Book of the Year
Requiem for a Beast by Matt Ottley, (Lothian)

Honour books:
Dust by Colin Thompson and 13 other illustrators (ABC Books)
The Peasant Prince by Anne Spudvilas, text by Li Cunxin (Viking)

Eve Pownall Award for Information Books
Parsley Rabbit's Book about Books by Frances Watts, illus by David Legge (ABC Books)

Honour books:
Girl Stuff: Your Full-on Guide to the Teen Years by Kaz Cooke (Viking)
Kokoda Track: 101 Days by Peter Macinnis (Black Dog Books)

Crichton Award for New Illustrators
Santa's Aussie Holiday by Anna Walker, text by Maria Farrer (Scholastic)

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on August 18, 2008 8:48 AM.

Poem: The Horse Poet by D. (Edward Dyson) was the previous entry in this blog.

Phillip Gwynne Profile is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en