2008 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards Shortlists

The shortlisted works for the 2008 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards have been announced.

The Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction
Diary Of A Bad Year, JM Coetzee (Text Publishing)
The Lost Dog, Michelle de Kretser (Allen & Unwin)
The Spare Room, Helen Garner (Text Publishing)

The Nettie Palmer Prize for Non-fiction
Van Diemen's Land, James Boyce (Black Inc)
Napoleon, Philip Dwyer (Allen & Unwin)
Ferocious Summer, Meredith Hooper (Allen & Unwin)
Detainee 002, Leigh Sales (Melbourne University Publishing)
Muck, Craig Sherborne (Black Inc)

The Prize for Young Adult Fiction
Solo, Alyssa Brugman (Allen & Unwin)
Pool, Justin D'Ath (Ford Street Publishing)
Tomorrow All Will Be Beautiful, Brigid Lowry (Allen & Unwin)

The Prize for an Unpublished Manuscript by an Emerging Victorian Writer
Conditions of Return, Daniel Ducrou
Going Finish, Mandy Maroney
In Search of the Blue Tiger, Robert Power

The C J Dennis Prize for Poetry
Event, Judith Bishop (Salt Publishing)
Press Release, Lisa Gorton (Giramondo Publishing)
As We Draw Ourselves, Barry Hill (Five Islands Press)

The Louis Esson Prize for Drama
When the Rain Stops Falling, Andrew Bovell (Brink Productions)
The Story of the Miracles at Cookie's Table, Wesley Enoch (Currency Press)
Toy Symphony, Michael Gow (Belvoir Street Theatre)

The Alfred Deakin Prize for an Essay Advancing Public Debate
Out of Control: The Tragedy of Tasmania's Forests, Richard Flanagan (The Monthly)
Trapped in the Aboriginal Reality Show, Marcia Langton (Griffith Review)
Love and Money, Anne Manne (Quarterly Essay)
The Exiled Child, Meera Atkinson (Griffith Review)

The Prize for a First Book of History
Van Diemen's Land, James Boyce (Black Inc)
The Lamb Enters the Dreaming, Robert Kenny (Scribe)
Pistols! Treason! Murder!, Jonathan Walker (Melbourne University Publishing)

The Prize for Indigenous Writing Anonymous
, Yvette Holt (University of Queensland Press)
Me, Antman & Fleabag, Gayle Kennedy (University of Queensland Press)
Fight for Liberty and Freedom: The Origins of Australian Aboriginal Activism, John Maynard (Aboriginal Studies Press)

The John Curtin Prize for Journalism
The Search for Edna Lavilla, Eurydice Aroney and Sharon Davis (Radio Eye, ABC Radio National)
Shame Job: Circle of Abuse, Nick Farrow and Sarah Ferguson (Sunday Program, Nine Network Australia)
Out of Control: The Tragedy of Tasmania's Forests, Richard Flanagan (The Monthly)

The Prize for Best Music Theatre Script
The Hanging of Jean Lee, Libretto by Jordie Albiston and Abe Pogos. Composed by Andrée Greenwell. Based upon the verse history by Jordie Albiston (Green Music with The Studio, Sydney Opera House)
The Wild Blue, Music, lyrics and book by Anthony Crowley (St Martins Theatre)
Crossing Live, Words by Matthew Saville. Music by Bryony Marks (Chambermade)

The Grollo Ruzzene Foundation Prize for Writing about Italians in Australia
See Naples and Die, Penelope Green (Hachette Australia)
Head Over Heel, Chris Harrison (Murdoch Books)
Antonio's Seed, Merry Watson (Jeremiah's Circle Publishing)

The winners will be announced at a presentation dinner on Monday 1st September.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on August 14, 2008 12:44 PM.

World SF Convention Returns to Australia was the previous entry in this blog.

Reviews of Australian Books #93 is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en