Best of the Bookers Shortlist Announced

As a way of celebrating the 40th anniversary of the start of the Man Booker prize, the organiser have decided to set up a method of selecting the Best of the Bookers, the best novel to have won the prize over those 40 years. An advisory committee has selected a shortlist of six novels and the public is invited to vote for the winner.

The shortlisted works are:
The Ghost Road by Pat Barker, 1995
Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey, 1988
Disgrace by J.M. Coetzee, 1999
The Siege of Krishnapur by J.G. Farrell, 1973
The Conservationist by Nadine Gordimer, 1974
Midnight's Children by Salman Rushdie, 1981

The winner will be announced on July 10, 2008.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on May 12, 2008 1:59 PM.

Tom Keneally Watch #3 was the previous entry in this blog.

Australian Bookcovers #113 - A Fortunate Life by A.B. Facey is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en