2008 NSW Premier's Literary Award Winners

The winners of the the 2008 NSW Premier's Literary Award were announced last night in Sydney.

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction
Michelle de Kretser The Lost Dog

Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction
Tom Griffiths Slicing the Silence: Voyaging to Antarctica

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry
Kathryn Lomer Two Kinds of Silence

Ethel Turner Prize for Young People's Literature
James Roy Town

Patricia Wrightson Prize
Li Cunxin & Anne Spudvilas (illus) The Peasant Prince

Community Relations Commission Award
Jacob G. Rosenberg Sunrise West

Gleebooks Prize
Kay Anderson Race and the Crisis of Humanism

UTS Award for New Writing
Rhyll McMaster Feather Man

Play Award
Debra Oswald Stories in the Dark

Script Writing Award
Anna Broinowski Forbidden Lie$

The NSW Premier's Literary Scholarship Prize
William Christie Samuel Taylor Coleridge: A Literary Life

Book of the Year
Michelle de Kretser The Lost Dog

A Special Award was also presented to Tom Keneally for lifetime achievement.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on May 20, 2008 11:56 AM.

Peter Carey Watch #6 was the previous entry in this blog.

Lisa Forrest Profile is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en