2008 Kiriyama Prize Winners

The winners of the 2008 Kiriyama Prize have been announced. The winners were:

Fiction Mister Pip by Lloyd Jones

The Fragile Edge: Diving and Other adventures in the South Pacific by
Julia Whitty

From the prize's website: "The Kiriyama Prize was established in 1996 to recognize outstanding books about the Pacific Rim and South Asia that encourage greater mutual understanding of and among the peoples and nations of this vast and culturally diverse region. The Prize consists of a cash award of US $30,000, which is split equally between the fiction and nonfiction winners. Beginning in 2008, if a work in translation is chosen as a winner in either category, the translator will receive $5,000 and the winning author $10,000. "

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on April 3, 2008 2:55 PM.

Short, Sharp Shocks was the previous entry in this blog.

A Classic Year: 11.0 The Getting of Wisdom by Henry Handel Richardson is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en