Winners of the 2008 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature

The winners of the 2008 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature have been announced.

$15,000 Award for Children's Literature
Don't Call Me Ishmael (Michael Gerard Bauer, Omnibus)

$15,000 Award for Fiction
The Ballad of Desmond Kale (Roger McDonald, Vintage)

$10,000 Award for Innovation
Someone Else: Fictional Essays (John Hughes, Giramondo)

$15,000 Award for Nonfiction
Sunrise West (Jacob G Rosenberg, Brandl & Schlesinger)

$15,000 John Bray Poetry Award
Urban Myths: 210 Poems (John Tranter, UQP)

$10,000 Jill Blewett Playwright's Award for the Creative
Merger - art, life and the other thing (Duncan Graham)

$10,000 Award for an Unpublished Manuscript by a SA Emerging Writer
The Second Fouling Mark (Stephen Orr)

In addition, John Tranter won the South Australian Premier's Award for his poetry collection, Urban Myths: 210 Poems.
[Update: I've added the winners of the last two categories above.]

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on March 3, 2008 9:32 AM.

Poem: The Bards Who Lived at Manly by Henry Lawson (Part 2) was the previous entry in this blog.

Australian Crime Fiction Snaphot: Marshall Browne is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en