2008 Kiriyama Prize Shortlists

The fiction and non-fiction shortlists for the 2008 Kiriyama Prize have been announced.

The Kiriyama Prize was established in 1996 to recognize outstanding books about the Pacific Rim and South Asia that encourage greater mutual understanding of and among the peoples and nations of this vast and culturally diverse region. The Prize consists of a cash award of US $30,000, which is split equally between the fiction and nonfiction winners. Beginning in 2008, if a work in translation is chosen as a winner in either category, the translator will receive $5,000 and the winning author
The shortlisted works are:

Mister Pip by Lloyd Jones
The Complete Stories by David Malouf
The Last Chinese Chef by Nicole Mones
Mosquito by Roma Tearne
I Love Dollars by Zhu Wen translated by Julia Lovell

The Father of All Things: A Marine, His Son, and the Legacy of Vietnam by Tom Bissell
East Wind Melts the Ice by Liza Dalby
India After Gandhi: The History of the World's Largest Democracy by Ramachandra Guha
The Talented Women of the Zhang Family by Susan Mann
The Fragile Edge: Diving and Other Adventures in the South Pacific by Julia Whitty

The winners in both categories will be announced on April 1, 2008.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on March 18, 2008 10:59 AM.

Follow-up To Prime Minister's Literary Awards was the previous entry in this blog.

Film Adaptation: The Drowner by Robert Drewe is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en