2008 Barbara Jefferis Award Shortlist

The shortlisted works for the 2008 Barbara Jefferis Award have been announced. This award is offered annually for "the best novel written by an Australian author that depicts women or girls in a positive way or otherwise empowers the status of women and girls in society."

The shortlisted works are:

Karen Foxlee: The Anatomy of Wings (University of Queensland Press)
Rhyll McMaster:Feather Man (Brandl & Schlesinger)
Geraldine Wooller: The Seamstress (University of Western Australia Press)
Michelle de Kretser: The Lost Dog (Allen & Unwin)

The judges for the award are journalist Deborah Hope, academic Leigh Dale and author Rosie Scott. The winner will be announced at a function held on Friday, 28 March 2008.

Note: I can't find any recently updated webpage information regarding this award. The
information printed here is extracted from "The Overlow" column of "The Australian" newspaper book pages.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on March 11, 2008 10:52 AM.

Peter Carey Watch #3 was the previous entry in this blog.

The Art of Reading is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en