Prime Minister's Literary Prize

"The Australian" is reporting that a new literary award will be announced shortly. Called the Prime Minister's Literary Prize it will chose single winners in fiction and non-fiction categories only. Each prize will be worth $100,000, with another $100,000 being spent to publicise the prize. At this time no firm eligibility criteria have been set, but it does appear that judges in each category will be appointed (single-year or ongoing?), and these judges will make recommendations to the PM. Not sure what ramifications this award will have on
the Miles Franklin Award as yet. We'll have to see the final conditions of the award.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on December 5, 2007 4:37 PM.

J.M. Coetzee Watch #2 was the previous entry in this blog.

Weekend Round-Up 2007 #41 is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en