2007 Queensland Premier's Literary Award Winners

The winners of the 2007 Queensland Premier's Literary Awards have been announced. It appears that this was the last official function attended by retiring premier Peter Beattie.

Unpublished Indigenous Writer - The David Unaipon Award
Elizabeth Eileen Hodgson for Skin Paintings

Poetry Collection - Arts Queensland Judith Wright Calanthe Award
Dr Laurie Duggan for The Passenger (University of Queensland Press)

Australian Short Story Collection - Arts Queensland Steele Rudd Award
David Malouf for Every Move You Make (Random House UK)

Film Script - Pacific Film and Television Commission Award
Joel Anderson for Lake Mungo (Mungo Productions Pty Ltd)

Television Script - QUT Creative Industries Award
Sue Smith for Bastard Boys (Flying Cabbage Productions)

Non-Fiction Book Award
Professor Tom Griffiths for Slicing the Silence: Voyaging to Antarctica (New South / UNSW Press)
Science Writer - Department of State Development Award
Dr Richard Smith for Crude (ABC Television)

History Book Award
Christopher Clark for Iron Kingdom (Allen Lane, Penguin Books)

Literary or Media Work Advancing Public Debate - The Harry Williams Award Chris Masters for Jonestown (Allen & Unwin)

Children's Book - The Dymocks Literacy Foundation
Glenda Millard for Layla Queen of Hearts (ABC Books)

Young Adult Book Award
Judith Clarke for One Whole and Perfect Day (Allen & Unwin)

Drama Script (Stage) Award
Campion Decent for "Embers" (HotHouse Theatre and Sydney Theatre Company)

Fiction Book Award
Alexis Wright for Carpentaria (Giramondo Publishing)

Emerging Queensland Author - Manuscript Award
Ian Commins for Life in the Bus Lane

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on September 12, 2007 3:36 PM.

No Taxation Without Compensation was the previous entry in this blog.

Australian Literary Monuments #25 - Henry Handel Richardson is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en