2007 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards Shortlists

The shortlists for the 2007 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards have been released. The winners will be announced on Monday 3rd September.

The Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction
The Time We Have Taken by Steven Carroll
Feather Man by Rhyll McMaster
Carpentaria by Alexis Wright

The Nettie Palmer Prize for Non-Fiction
Voyages to the South Seas: In Search of Terres Australes by Danielle Clode
Whose ABC? The Australian Broadcasting Corporation 1983-2006 by Ken Inglis
Life Class: The Education of a Biographer by Brenda Niall
Unpolished Gem by Alice Pung
Writing Never Arrives Naked: Early Aboriginal Cultures of Writing in Australia by Penny van Toorn

The CJ Dennis Prize for Poetry
The Goldfinches of Baghdad by Robert Adamson
Jack by Judy Johnson
Montale by John Watson

The Louis Esson Prize for Drama
A Single Act by Jane Brodie
Asylum by Kit Lazaroo
It Just Stopped by Stephen Sewell

The Prize for Young Adult Fiction
Gravity by Scot Gardner
Notes from the Teenage Underground by Simmone Howell
Black Water by David Metzenthen

The Prize for Science Writing
The Silent Deep by Tony Koslow
Swimming in Stone: The Amazing Gogo Fossiles of the Kimberley by John Long
Climate Change: Turning Up the Heat by A. Barrie Pittock

The Alfred Deakin Prize for an Essay Advancing Public Debate
The Exiled Child by Meera Atkinson
Voting for Jesus by Amanada Lohrey
The Writer in a Time of Terror by Frank Moorhouse
White Guilt, Victimhood and the Quest for a Radical Centre by Noel Pearson

The Village Roadshow Prize for Screen Writing
The Home Song Stories by Tony Ayres
The Tumbler by Chris Thompson
Ten Empty by Brendan Cowell and Anthony Hayes

The Prize for an Unpublished Manuscript by an Emerging Victorian Writer
The Ghost Writer by Nick Gadd
Dissection by Jacinta Halloran
The Wog Manual by Amra Pajalic

The Grollo Ruzzene Foundation Prize for Writing About Italians in Australia
Chewing Gum in Holy Water by Cheryl Hardacre and Mario Valentini
The Grand Experiment: Two Boys, Two Cultures by Anouk Ride
Madonna of the Eucalypts by Karen Sparnon

The John Curtin Prize for Journalism
Hicks on Trial by Jenny Brockie and Amanda Collinge
Cruising: On Board P&O and Inside the Brimble Inquest by Malcolm Knox
Muslim Leader Blames Women for Sex Attacks (plus associated stories) by Richard Kerbaj

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on August 13, 2007 12:27 PM.

Australian Books to Film #23 - Tai-Pan was the previous entry in this blog.

Marianne de Pierres Interview is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en