Miles Franklin Award Contenders

With the 2007 Miles Franklin Award winner due to be announced on Thursday 21st June, Jason Steger, in "The Age", looks at the prize and this year's contenders.

His conclusion: "If originality were the key to the prize, Wright might have it stitched up. Indeed, most people around the books traps seem to think she is a shoo-in. That remains to be seen. As Peter Carey has said umpteen times, literary prizes are a lottery."

Just as a reminder the shortlisted works are:

Theft by Peter Carey
Dreams of Speaking by Gail Jones
Careless by Deborah Robertson
Carpentaria by Alexis Wright

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on June 19, 2007 10:05 AM.

Australian Bookcovers #69 - Dancing on Coral by Glenda Adams was the previous entry in this blog.

Gail Jones Profile is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en