2007 Miles Franklin Award Winner Announced

Alexis Wright has been announced as the winner of the 2007 Miles Franklin Award, for her novel Carpentaria.

I actually put this decision down to me. It's the only one of the four shortlisted novels I haven't either read or started. In 2006, Roger McDonald's novel was the only one I hadn't got to. In 2005, I read all the shortlisted works and picked the winner, so I see a pattern here, even if no-one else does.

But anyway, from all reports Wright is a worthy winner. The shortlisted novels were:

Theft: A Love Story by Peter Carey
Dreams of Speaking by Gail Jones
Careless by Deborah Robertson
Carpentaria by Alexis Wright

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on June 21, 2007 8:47 PM.

The Art of Reviewing 4 was the previous entry in this blog.

Reactions to the Miles Franklin Winner is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en