2006 Western Australian Premier's Book Awards

The shortlisted works for the 2006 Western Australian Premier's Book Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted works are:

Shadow Thief by Marion May Campbell, (Pandanus Books)
Dreams of Speaking by Gail Jones, (Vintage)
The Travel Writer by Simone Lazaroo, (Pan Macmillan Australia)
Careless by Deborah Robertson, (Pan Macmillan Australia)
The Music of Dunes by Mike Williams, (Fremantle Arts Centre Press)

All the Time in the World by Dennis Haskell, (Salt Publishing)
Sacré Coeur: A Salt Tragedy by John Kinsella, (Vagabond Press)
Book of Days by Deanne Leber, (Self published)
Phosphorescence by Graeme Miles, (Fremantle Arts Centre Press)
A Difficult Faith by Mark Reid, (Fremantle Arts Centre Press)

Rob Riley: an Aboriginal Leader's Quest for Justice by Quentin Beresford, (Aboriginal Studies Press)
In The Space Behind His Eyes by Sally Clarke, (Claverton House (self))
Arthur Tange: Last of the Mandarins by Peter Edwards, (Allen & Unwin)
Learning to Dance by Elizabeth Jolley, (Penguin Books)
New Legend by Monique La Fontaine, (Kimberley Aboriginal Law & Cultural Centre)

Western Australia History Award
The Millendon Memoirs by James Cameron, (Hesperian Press)
The Workshops: A History of the Midland Government Railway Workshops by Bobbie Oliver and Patrick Bertola, (UWA Press)
Gallipoli: The Western Australian Story by Wes Olson, (UWA Press)
[Note: these books are also considered shortlisted for the Non-Fiction Award.]

Children's Books
Tai's Penguin by Raewyn Caisley, (Penguin Group (Australia))
Nathan Nuttboard Family Matters by Anthony Eaton, (University of Queensland Press)
The Catalpa Escape by Joy & Mike Lefroy and Marion Duke, (Fremantle Arts Centre Press)
Water Witcher by Jan Ormerod, (Little Hare Books)
The Shy Mala by Liliana Stafford and Sophia Zielinski, (Windy Hollow Books)
The Arrival by Shaun Tan, (Hachette Livre Australia)

Young Adult Books
No More Borders For Josef by Diana Chase, (Fremantle Arts Centre Press)
Bye, Beautiful by Julia Lawrinson, (Penguin Group (Australia))
Suburban Freak Show by Julia Lawrinson, (Hachette Livre Australia)
Destroying Avalon by Kate McCaffrey, (Fremantle Arts Centre Press)
Mama's Trippin' Katy Watson-Kell, (Fremantle Arts Centre Press)

The Ships Pass Quietly by John Aitken, (Blue Room Theatre)
Marmalade and Egg by Melissa Cantwell, (Perth Theatre Co)
Episode 14 "Pure Poetry" by Sarah Rossetti, (RB Films)
Sardines by Hellie Turner, (Tropic Sun Theatre Queensland)
The Carnivores by Ian Wilding, (Black Swan Theatre Company)

The award winners will be announced at a gala dinner on Friday June 8 at the State Library of Western Australia.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on May 14, 2007 10:17 AM.

Poem: Dreams by V.J.D (Victor Daley) was the previous entry in this blog.

Australian Bookcovers #64 - Jack Maggs by Peter Carey is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en