2007 Miles Franklin Award

Australia's most prestigious literary award will be appearing on our cultural radars before too long: the longlist will be released on March 15th, the shortlist on April 19, and the winner on June 21.

The "Australian Book Review", honoring the award's 50th anniversary, has instituted the Miles Franklin Beat-up Award. "This will be awarded to the first reader who alerts us to a grumpy news story about the perfidy of Miles." In other words, they want someone to grumble about the fact that the award is only presented to books (or plays) which reflect Australian characters, settings or references. Well, I had my say about this last year so I won't be caught out again. I may be grumpy but even I can see a set-up when it stares me in the face.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on March 7, 2007 9:21 PM.

Richard Flanagan was the previous entry in this blog.

Great Australian Authors #39 - Norman Lindsay is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en