2007 Australian Literary Anniversaries

Notable Australian authors born in 1957: Allan Atwood, Nick Cave, Liam Davison, Sara Douglass, Anthony Lawrence, Hannie Rayson, Kim Scott, and Lucy Sussex.

Notable Australian authors who died in 1957: Will Lawson.

Major novels published in 1957: The Big Story by Morris West, Call Me When the Cross Turns Over by D'Arcy Niland, On the Beach by Nevil Shute, One-a-Pecker, Two-a-Pecker by Ruth Park, Outbreak of Love by Martin Boyd, Seedtime by Vance Palmer, They're a Weird Mob by Nino Culotta, and Voss by Patrick White.

Hodder and Stoughton Publishing house was established in 1957 and the NSW Bookstall Company ceased trading.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on January 24, 2007 3:52 PM.

Reviews of Australian Books #42 was the previous entry in this blog.

Best Australian Speculative Fiction of 2006 is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en