2006 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards

The shortlisted works for the 2006 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards were announced last Friday (11 August) and somehow I contrived to miss seeing the list before today. You can get full details of the award at the State Library of Victoria's website.

The shortlisted works are:

The Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction

Theft: A Love Story, Peter Carey [Knopf/Random House]
Slow Man, J. M. Coetzee [Knopf/Random House]
The Secret River, Kate Grenville [Text Publishing]
Everyman's Rules for Scientific Living, Carrie Tiffany [Picador/Pan Macmillan]

The Nettie Palmer Prize for Non-fiction

Aboriginal Australians: A History Since 1800, Richard Broome [Allen & Unwin]
Margaret Michaelis: Love, Loss and Photography, Helen Ennis [National Gallery of Australia]
Bernard Shaw: A Life, Anthony M. Gibbs [UNSW Press]
East of Time, Jacob G. Rosenberg [Brandl and Schlesinger}
Hoi Polloi, Craig Sherborne [Black Inc]

The C J Dennis Prize for Poetry

Universal Andalusia, Brett Dionysius [Soi 3/Papertiger Media]
The Kindly Ones, Susan Hampton [Five Islands Press]
Urban Myths: 210 Poems, John Tranter [University of Queensland Press]

The Louis Esson Prize for Drama

Checklist for an Armed Robber, Vanessa Bates [Vitalstatistix National Women's Theatre]
Ruby's Last Dollar, Reg Cribb [Pork Chop Productions]
Three Furies: Scenes from the Life of Francis Bacon, Stephen Sewell [Adelaide Festival]

The Prize for Young Adult Fiction

Theodora's Gift, Ursula Dubosarsky [Penguin]
The Slightly Bruised Glory of Cedar B. Hartley, Martine Murray [Allen & Unwin]
Losing It, Lizzie Wilcock [Scholastic Press]

The Prize for a First Book of History

Human Remains, Helen MacDonald [Melbourne University Press]
Botany Bay: Where Histories Meet, Maria Nugent [Allen & Unwin]
Traumascapes, Maria Tumarkin [Melbourne University Press]

The Alfred Deakin Prize for an Essay Advancing Public Debate

The Tortures of Heritage, Waleed Aly [The Age]
Relaxed and Comfortable: The Liberal Party's Australia, Judith Brett, 'Quarterly Essay', [Black Inc]
Is the Media Asleep?, David Marr from "Do Not Disturb: Is the Media Failing Australia?" [Black Inc]

The Village Roadshow Prize for Screen Writing

Suburban Mayhem, Alice Bell [Suburban Mayhem Pty Ltd]
Last Train to Freo, Reg Cribb [Taylor Media]
Noise, Matthew Saville [Retroactive Films]

The Prize for Indigenous Writing

Watershed, Fabienne Bayet-Charlton [IAD Press]
Sweet Guy, Jared Thomas [IAD Press]
Little Black Bastard, Noel Tovey [Hachette Livre Australia]
Swallow the Air, Tara June Winch [University of Queensland Press]

The Prize for an Unpublished Manuscript by an Emerging Victorian Writer

Aether, Kate Cole-Adams
Rohypnol, Andrew Hutchinson
Among the Dead, Chris Womersley

The Grollo Ruzzene Foundation Prize for Writing about Italians in Australia

When in Rome: Chasing La Dolce Vita, Penelope Green [Hachette Livre Australia]
The Olive Sisters, Amanda Hampson [Penguin]
From Tuscany to Victoria: The Life and Work of Pietro Baracchi, Carlo Catani, Ettore Checchi, Daniela Volpe [Italian Australia Institute]

The John Curtin Prize for Journalism

Information idol - How Google is Making Us Stupid, Gideon Haigh [The Monthly]
The Tall Man, Chloe Hooper [The Monthly]
Generation Lost in the Desert, Frontier Too Far and Scams in the Desert, Nicholas Rothwell [The Australian]
Ties That Bind, Margaret Simons [Griffith Review]

In 2006 the following awards will NOT be offered: The Prize for Science Writing and The Dinny O'Hearn Prize for Literary Translation.

The winners will be announced by the Victorian Premier on Monday 4 September.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on August 17, 2006 2:20 PM.

2006 Man Booker Prize Longlist Follow-Up was the previous entry in this blog.

Caricature #10 - "Henry Lawson" by David Low is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en