2006 ALS Gold Medal

The shortlist for Australia's oldest literary award has been announced.

"The ALS Gold Medal is awarded annually for an outstanding literary work in the preceding calendar year. The Medal was inaugurated by the Australian Literature Society, which was founded in Melbourne in 1899 and incorporated into the Association for the Study of Australian Literature in 1982."

The shortlisted novels:
Banana Heart Summer, Merlinda Bobis
Dead Europe, Christos Tsiolkas
East of Time, Jacob G. Rosenberg
March, Geraldine Brooks
The Patron Saint of Eels, Gregory Day

The following novels were highly commended by the judging panel:
Everyman's Rules for Scientific Living, Carrie Tiffany
Marsh Birds, Eva Sallis

The Gold Medal winner will be announced on 2nd July, 2006.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on May 8, 2006 3:39 PM.

Weekend Round-Up 2006 #19 was the previous entry in this blog.

Australian Bookcovers #11 - Pioneers on Parade by Miles Franklin and Dymphna Cusack is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en