2006 NSW Premier's Literary Awards Winners

The winners of the 2006 NSW Premier's Literary Awards were announced last night. The winners were:

Christina Stead Prize for fiction ($20,000)
Kate Grenville, The Secret River (Text Publishing)

Douglas Stewart Prize for non-fiction ($20,000)
Jacob G. Rosenberg, East of Time (Brandl & Schlesinger)

Kenneth Slessor Prize for poetry ($15,000)
Jaya Savige, Latecomers (Uni Qld Press)

NSW Premier's Prize for literary scholarship ($15,000)
Terry Collits, Postcolonial Conrad: Paradoxes of Empire (Routledge)

Ethel Turner Prize for young people's literature ($15,000)
Ursula Dubosarsky, Theodora's Gift (Penguin)

Patricia Wrightson Prize ($15,000)
Kierin Meehan, In the Monkey Forest (Penguin)

Community Relations Commission Award ($15,000)
Kate Grenville, The Secret River (Text Publishing)

Gleebooks Prize ($10,000) & Book of the Year ($2,000)
Tim Flannery, The Weather Makers: the History and Future Impact of Climate Change (Text Publishing)

UTS Award for New Writing ($5,000)
Steven Lang, An Accidental Terrorist (Uni Qld Press)

Play Award ($15,000)
Thomas Murphy, Strangers in Between (Griffin Theatre Co)

Script Writing Award ($15,000)
Chris Lilley, We Can Be Heroes (Princess Pictures)

Special Award ($5,000)
Rosemary Dobson AO

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on May 24, 2006 9:38 AM.

Australian Literary Monuments #8 - Judith Wright was the previous entry in this blog.

Review: The Wing of Night by Brenda Walker is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en