2006 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature Shortlists

The shortlists for the 2006 Adelaide Festival Awards for Literature have been announced. The winners will be announced on March 5th. The shortlists are:

$15,000 Award for children's literature (143 entries)
The Running Man by Michael Bauer (Omnibus Books)
Fireshadow by Anthony Eaton (University of Queensland Press)
Jetty Rats by Phillip Gwynne (Penguin)
Soraya the Storyteller by Rosanne Hawke (Lothian Books)
It's Not All About You, Calma! by Barry Jonsberg (Allen & Unwin)
The Spare Room by Kathryn Lomer (University of Queensland Press)

$15,000 Award for fiction (114 entries)
The Lost Thoughts of Soldiers by Delia Falconer (Picador)
The Ghost Writer by John Harwood (Vintage)
Sixty Lights by Gail Jones (Random House Australia)
The White Earth by Andrew McGahan (Allen & Unwin)
The Marsh Birds by Eva Sallis (Allen & Unwin)
The Last Ride by Denise Young (HarperCollins Publishers Australia)

$10,000 Award for innovation (22 entries)
<More or Less Than> 1-100 by MTC Cronin (Shearsman Books)
The Lost Thoughts of Soldiers by Delia Falconer (Picador)
The Bone House by Beverley Farmer (Giramondo)
East of Time by Jacob G. Rosenberg (Brandl & Schlesinger)

$15,000 Award for non-fiction (154 entries)
Papunya: A Place Made After the Story by Geoffrey Bardon (deceased) and James Bardon (Melbourne University Press)
Twilight of Love by Robert Dessaix (Picador)
Joe Cinque's Consolation by Helen Garner (Picador)
Professional Savages by Roslyn Poignant (UNSW Press)
Velocity by Mandy Sayer (Vintage)

$15,000 John Bray poetry award (90 entries)
Wolf Notes by Judith Beveridge (Giramondo)
Walking to Point Clear by David Brooks (Brandl and Schlesinger)
Totem by Luke Davies (Allen & Unwin)
Friendly Fire by Jennifer Maiden (Giramondo)
Freehold by Geoff Page (Brandl and Schlesinger)
The Well Mouth by Phillip Salom (Freemantle Arts Centre Press)

$10,000 Jill Blewett Playwright's award for the creative development of a playscript by a South Australian writer (8 entries)
Black Crow Lullabies by Duncan Graham
The Uncharted Hour by Finegan Kruckemeyer
The Sea Bride by Caleb Lewis

$10,000 Award for an unpublished manuscript by a SA emerging writer to be published by Wakefield Press (32 entries)
Life Before Plastic by Libby Angel
Black Dust Dancing by Tracy Crisp
Anthems for Before by Sonja Dechian
The Quakers by Rachel Hennessy
Play the Devil by Henry Sheppard

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on February 21, 2006 1:39 PM.

Australian Literary Monuments #6 - C.J. Dennis was the previous entry in this blog.

Great Australian Authors #18 - John O'Brien is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en