2006 IMPAC Dublin Literary Award Longlist

The longlist for the 2006 IMPAC Dublin Literary Award has been announced and I've found the following
books by Australian authors hidden away in the long, long list:

Cape Grimm, Carmel Bird
The Broken Book, Susan Johnson
Sixty Lights, Gail Jones
A Private Man, Malcolm Knox
The Philosopher's Doll, Amanda Lohrey
The White Earth, Andrew McGahan
Snowleg, Nicholas Shakespeare

The shortlist will be announced on 5th April 2006, and the winner on 14th June 2006.

The only previous Australian winner of the award was Remembering Babylon by David Malouf, in 1996. The following Australian novels have been shortlisted for the award: The Glade Within the Grove by David Foster in 1998; True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey in 2002; and The Great Fire by Shirley Hazzard in 2005. Of the books longlisted for this year's award, I've covered only The White Earth and Sixty Lights. I'll have to see what I can do about the others.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on November 23, 2005 10:56 AM.

Great Australian Authors #6 - Victor Daley was the previous entry in this blog.

"New York Times" Notable Books 2005 is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en