2005 Victorian Premier's Literary Award Shortlists

The shortlisted works for the 2005 Victorian Premier's Literary Awards have been announced. The winners will be annonuced on October 17. Full details of the list, along with the judges' reports, can be found at the State Library of Victoria website.

The Vance Palmer Prize for Fiction
Surrender, Sonya Hartnett Viking/Penguin
Sixty Lights, Gail Jones Vintage/Random House
Affection, Ian Townsend Fourth Estate /Harper Collins

The Nettie Palmer Prize for Non-fiction
Degenerates and Perverts: The 1939 Herald Exhibition of French and British Contemporary Art, Eileen Chanin and Steven Miller The Miegunyah Press / Melbourne University Publishing
Beach Crossings: Voyaging across Times, Cultures and Self, Greg Dening The Miegunyah Press / Melbourne University Publishing
Twilight of Love: Travels with Turgenev, Robert Dessaix Picador/Pan Macmillan
Joe Cinque's Consolation: A True Story of Death, Grief and the Law, Helen Garner Picador/Pan Macmillan
Bypass: The Story of a Road, Michael McGirr Picador/Pan Macmillan

The C J Dennis Prize for Poetry
<More or Less Than>1-100, MTC Cronin Shearsman Books
Doppler Effect, John Kinsella Salt Publishing
Firelick, Morgan Yasbincek Fremantle Arts Centre Press

The Louis Esson Prize for Drama
The Frail Man, Anthony Crowley Playbox /Currency
Blowback, David Pledger Not Yet, It's Difficult The Spook, Melissa
Reeves Company B. Belvoir St.

The Prize for Young Adult Fiction
The Running Man, Michael Gerard Bauer Omnibus Books
Secret Scribbled Notebooks, Joanne Horniman Allen & Unwin
So Yesterday, Scott Westerfeld Penguin Books Australia

The Prize for Science Writing
The Land Of Flowers: An Australian Environment on the Brink, Irene Cunningham Otford Press
Stem Cells: Controversy at the Frontiers of Science, Elizabeth Finkel ABC Books Astonishing Animals, Tim Flannery and Peter Schouten Text Publishing

The Alfred Deakin Prize for an Essay Advancing Public Debate
Living in a Material World, Randa Abdel-Fattah Griffith Review
'Kangaroo Court': Family Law in Australia, John Hirst 'Quarterly Essay' Black Inc
Mission Impossible: The Sheikhs, the U.S. and the Future of Iraq, Paul McGeogh 'Quarterly Essay' Black Inc

The Village Roadshow Prize for Screen Writing
Revealing Gallipoli, Wain Fimeri ABC Television
Little Fish, Jacquelin Perske Porchlight FIlms
Look Both Ways, Sarah Watt Hibiscus Films

The Prize for an Unpublished Manuscript by an Emerging Victorian Writer
I Hate Martin Amis et al, Peter Barry
'Days Like Televisi...Days Like Television' and Other Stories, James Hawthorne
The Timeball Philosophers, Anita Punton

The Grollo Ruzzene Foundation Prize for Writing about Italians in Australia Martino's Story, Lyn Chatham Peter Bruno
Per l'Australia: The Story of Italian Migration, Julia Church The Miegunyah Press/Melbourne University Publishing
A Spoonful of Zucchero, Kate Taylor Little Red Apple Publishing

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on September 23, 2005 1:34 PM.

Combined Reviews: The Broken Shore by Peter Temple was the previous entry in this blog.

Poem: On a Wet Night by L.M.D. (Dugald McLaghlan) is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en