2004 WA Premier's Literary Awards

The winners of the WA Premier's Awards for 2004 (an award that slipped under the Matilda radar) have now been announced. The winners:

Sixty Lights, Gail Jones [along with the Premier's Award]

Against Certain Capture, Miriam Wei Wei Lo

Conversations with the Constitution, Greg Craven
Redbill: From Pearls to Peace - The Life and Times of a Remarkable Lugger, Kate Lance

West Australian History Award
Behind the Play, Anthony Maker

Children's Books
A Home for Bilby, Joanne Crawford & Grace Fielding

Young Adults' Award
Fireshadow, Anthony Eaton

Script Award
Yandy, Jolly Read

Full details of the shortlists are also available. It is interesting to note that Jones and Winton have now gone head-to-head in two Premier's awards with the current score being one-all. Jones is also nominated for the Miles Franklin Award, unlike Winton.

About this Entry

This page contains a single entry by Perry Middlemiss published on May 26, 2005 3:46 PM.

2005 NSW Premier's Literary Awards Follow-up was the previous entry in this blog.

Gideon Haigh is the next entry in this blog.

Find recent content on the main index or look in the archives to find all content.

Monthly Archives

Powered by Movable Type 4.23-en